Happy One Year Anniversary, Curious Joe: La Semana Santa 2012

Nope, ’tis not a wedding anniversary since I am still single, nor is it the anniversary of this blog (which I would never celebrate anyway)…but ’tis an anniversary of spiritual rebirth.  Some people would call it a one-year-old birthday celebration…but for me, ’twas a great time to reflect the growth I had in a year.

This year’s Holy Week coincided with spring break.  Unfortunately, spring break did not seem to exist for a graduate student in the biosciences.  Many guys I know were in town working on research or preparing for teaching, including my befriended animal staff Patty.  When I attended Dr. Irv Weissman’s seminar session last Tuesday, I was amazed to see the entire forum filled with graduate students and faculty, including one of my committee members whom I know quite well and one good friend of mine who is aiming to finish his studies in the summer.  Of course, Dr. Weissman is famous for his works in hematopoietic stem cells and his seminar would attract many, but the gyms and campus was a lot emptier during break without much undergrads around.

Since the last time I updated, I made quite a few progress in life: getting certified as a doctoral student after meeting with my committee members and obtaining their John Hancocks after answering questions with my best ability and hearing their suggestions (with two I took that were helpful), officially announcing the date of my Qualifying Exam in August 2012, getting approval from a professor in Japan to use his knockout mice, getting some results to analyze, and continuing with my work,…I also got to spend quality time with myself and others.

My “spring break” or Holy Week kicked off with four hours of volleyball followed by four hours of hanging out in front of a bonfire with food and conversations.  Other than that, I also got to catch up with friends through coffee or Korean food or Indian food buffet (instead of the typical Easter brunch) for two hours each, those from Bible study at the Terrace with beer and popcorn on Tuesday evening for two hours, meeting up Saturday morning for an hour and a half with Michael (who is getting married in June),…and the list goes on.  I enjoyed spending time with great friends and good people, and ’tis a blessing to have them in life.  Other than human interactions, I also enjoyed spring break with bike rides, six-mile runs, walks around town, almond croissants, and some of the littlest things in life.  ‘Twas funny to see that week went by quickly too.

This Easter also marked my first year of officially entering into the Catholic church.  ‘Tis true that there are some areas of the faith that I would debate on, but most of the topics were deeply absorbed by me since when I was young.  In college, I lost touch with church and Masses, and I was brought back to faith when I was in New York over a year ago.  I was a tourist at St. Patrick’s Cathedral taking photos, and suddenly a voice in me encouraged me to stay for the 1PM Mass.  I then sat in the pew and stayed for the entire Mass, noticing that I had missed the beauty of the Mass and homilies during the past four to five years.  When getting back to Madison, ’twas the move-in/move-out weekend, and I got so many blessings and free furniture and dishes from friends as I moved from a three-bedroom into a one-bedroom.  I decided to go to Mass that weekend to give thanks, and I met some great friends by then.  I became more involved in choir, eventually participated in an all-male graduate student/young professional Bible study, and volunteered in events if I could.  I was not hardcore though, for I did not attend Mass everyday or befriend the priests and many in church, but my whole being changed with this encounter or call-back.  After being baptised and confirmed last year, I felt that I became more tranquil with no short temper or impatience.  I treated things optimistically while planning for the worst so that I would not be surprised, and I would not lost hope if the worst happened (which occurred with one of the collaborators earlier last June to November/December) but continue to plan ahead and move forward.  I guess I became a happier person while searching and observing the simplest joys in life without materialism, sexual desires/lusts, and more.  Yeah, many of my friends and even parents would consider me living as a Catholic monk since I do not live in bars or that I do not bring folks back to hook up with, but I prefer to live simply without having too much drama and sexually transmitted infections.

Although many would say that science (since I am in the field of microbiology and immunology) and religion do not mix, I would consider them wrong in conversations.  Most people I talked to would be extremists, relying on one or the other.  Most greatness comes from people who have a balance of the two.  Without science, we would not be able to cure diseases with antimicrobials and knowledge of first aid through physiology.  Without faith, we would not be able to realize our wrongdoings and to maintain some moral codes.  Of course both are dangerous when politics is involved, but the roots of science and religion is to contribute to society in a good way.  When people analyze the Bible, they would interpret it in their own ways too and even condemn people to hell.  How would they know if that was really God’s intentions?  Did people also take the historical context into perspective?

As I sang during the Easter Vigil and Sunday Mass, many friends and acquaintances would wish me a Happy Birthday or Happy One Year Anniversary with smiles on their faces.  When I saw people willingly to be baptised and confirmed, my heart was filled with joy.  Even the music sang soothed my mind and soul, and I was reminded on the greatness I experienced for a year.  Although I was tired at the end of the Vigil and going into the Sunday Mass with sleep deficiency, I felt as if I was welcomed back into the church again by renewing the vows.  Perhaps the joys from Easter came indirectly from Lent.  ‘Twas a sad period for my family due to some matter, but when telling friends that I gave up alcohol for Lent, my social life did not change at all.  I felt healthier without drinking, and I enjoyed my friends’ company a lot more.  Perhaps drinking would make someone depressed, even with friends…but I still would not mind getting beer with friends once in a while 🙂  Interestingly, tons of beer were provided after the Easter Vigil during the celebration, but I decided to go home to bed instead to prevent myself from passing out after drinking…

The Easter celebration also reminded me to continue working to get my PhD as soon as possible.  With aims to attend a conference next year, I am hoping to do well on my Qualifying Exam and to get some results in order to submit an abstract or a paper.  I also hope to continue excelling in teaching and hopefully be nominated for a teaching award.  Another goal for now would be to continue running and eventually sign up for a 10K run while getting more muscles and being fitter.  I do try to keep myself busy, but I am also open to meeting new people.  I went on a date on the Monday after Palm Sunday for four hours, and ’twas fun to meet new folks.  However, I have to constantly remind myself that I am not that desperate to hop into someone’s pants and that at least I have God in life!

This year brought many rewards and harvests, and I could only pray and ask that I will be similar in the future.  So many individuals brought love into my life, and I also hope that I can pay those forward with my abilities.  School will be starting tomorrow, meaning that I will be back teaching and such, but the summer will be here within four to five weeks!  Hopefully things will continue to go smoothly without violent winds and thunderstorms…but if catastrophe happens, I look forward to seeing the rainbow in the near future!

Leave a Reply

